Book reviews and recommendations, Borrowbox, Young Adult 12-15

Orla’s YA Book of the Month

Title: The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole 13 3/4 Author:  Sue Townsend Genre: YA General Fiction Review: by Orla O’ Brien (Kildare Town Library) Synopsis: Meet Adrian Mole, a hapless teenager providing an unabashed, pimples-and-all glimpse into adolescent life. Writing candidly about his parents' marital troubles, the dog, his life as a tortured poet and 'misunderstood intellectual', Adrian's painfully honest… Continue reading Orla’s YA Book of the Month

Adult Fiction, Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

Midnight Sun Book Review

Author: Stephenie Meyer Genre: Young Adult Fiction Reviewed by: Aoife, Newbridge library When Edward Cullen and Bella Swan met in Twilight, an iconic love story was born. But until now, fans have heard only Bella’s side of the story. At last, readers can experience Edward’s version in the long-awaited companion novel, Midnight Sun. This unforgettable tale, as told through… Continue reading Midnight Sun Book Review

Adult Fiction, Behind the Books, Book reviews and recommendations, Borrowbox, Children 10-12, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

Tolkien Reading Day

By Elaine Patterson, Newbridge Headquarters Tolkien Reading Day takes place annually on the 25th of March and celebrates the life and works of J. R. R. Tolkien, author of some of the famous works of fantasy in the English language. As a mild fan of Tolkien’s most famous works-I really must get around to reading… Continue reading Tolkien Reading Day

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15

Love Bomb

Author Jenny McLachlan  Genre Young Adult Fiction  Review by Orla O’ Brien Kildare Town Library  Synopsis Perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb… Continue reading Love Bomb

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

The Rest Of The Story

Author: Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Fiction Review by: Aoife, Leixlip Library Synopsis: It’s hard not to get caught up in the magic of the Lake – and Saylor finds herself falling under Roo’s spell as well.But when it’s finally time to go back home, which side of Emma Saylor will win?. Review: This book… Continue reading The Rest Of The Story

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

Young Adult Top 5 picks for November

by Orla, Kildare Town Library The Complete MAUS by Art Spiegelman Maus is the first graphic novel to win the Pulitzer Prize. It tells the true- life story of Art Spiegelman’s father, Vladek Spiegelman, who is a survivor of the Holocaust. It also deals with their tense and turbulent relationship. His father is a difficult… Continue reading Young Adult Top 5 picks for November

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Author: Suzanne Collins Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian/ Contemporary Fantasy/ Science Fiction Review by: Emma, Leixlip Library ★★★★ Synopsis: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes will revisit the world of Panem sixty-four years before the events of The Hunger Games, starting on the morning of the reaping of the Tenth Hunger Games. Ambition will fuel… Continue reading The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

A Throne of Swans

Author: Elizabeth & Katharine Corr Genre: Young Adult Fiction Ages 15 plus (some violence and Mild Romance scenes) Review by: Emma, Leixlip Library ★★★★ Synopsis: When her father dies just before her birthday, seventeen-year-old Aderyn inherits the role of Protector of Atratys, a dominion in a kingdom where nobles are able to transform at will… Continue reading A Throne of Swans

Uncategorized, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli Genre: YA Reviewed by: Aoife Kerr Branch: Leixlip Library Sixteen-year-old and not so openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed:… Continue reading Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15

Top Five YA Picks for September

 Orla O’ Brien – Kildare Town Library The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta. This is a poignant coming of age verse novel. It tells the compelling story of Michael, who is a mixed-race, gay teen. During Michael’s teenage years, and first year of college, he gradually and bravely embraces his identity. Michael boldly pursues the… Continue reading Top Five YA Picks for September