Adult Fiction, Behind the Books, Book reviews and recommendations, Borrowbox, Children 10-12, Young Adult 12-15, Young Adult 16+

Tolkien Reading Day

By Elaine Patterson, Newbridge Headquarters Tolkien Reading Day takes place annually on the 25th of March and celebrates the life and works of J. R. R. Tolkien, author of some of the famous works of fantasy in the English language. As a mild fan of Tolkien’s most famous works-I really must get around to reading… Continue reading Tolkien Reading Day

Adult Non-fiction, Audiobook

Fight Like A Girl Audiobook Review

Author: Clementine Ford Genre: Adult Non-Fiction Reviewed by: Aoife, Newbridge Library Online sensation, fearless feminist heroine and scourge of trolls and misogynists everywhere, Clementine Ford is a beacon of hope and inspiration to thousands of Australian women and girls. Her incendiary debut Fight Like A Girl is an essential manifesto for feminists new, old and soon-to-be, and exposes… Continue reading Fight Like A Girl Audiobook Review

Book reviews and recommendations

Today Is International World Sleep Day

Post by Emma Doran, Leixlip Library Did you know that according to a survey conducted by Dreams.co.uk that the average human being spends 26 years of their lifetime asleep and another 7 years of your lifetime trying to get to sleep? Sleep may seem like such a normal aspect of life that it might seem… Continue reading Today Is International World Sleep Day

Book reviews and recommendations

Top 4 Irish titles for Children, Young Adults & Adults on Bolinda Borrowbox

By Lorraine Connolly, Leixlip Library Lá Fhéile Pádraig sona duit! We hope you had a wonderful St. Patrick's Day yesterday from all of us here in Leixlip library. To celebrate the day that was in it and to keep the celebrations of all things Irish going a little longer I thought I would gather a… Continue reading Top 4 Irish titles for Children, Young Adults & Adults on Bolinda Borrowbox

Behind the Books, Book reviews and recommendations

Authors Cethan Leahy and Moïra Fowley-Doyle’s Teen Recommendations

As part of the Ireland Reads series of events with Kildare Libraries, Maynooth Library hosted a Young Adult panel on ‘Books Worth Living For’. The session hosted two wonderful Irish authors for teens, Cethan Leahy and Moïra Fowley-Doyle who shared some of the YA fiction they recommended for getting through lockdown and beyond. Ranging from… Continue reading Authors Cethan Leahy and Moïra Fowley-Doyle’s Teen Recommendations

Adult Non-fiction, Book reviews and recommendations

International Women’s Day Book Choices

By Shona Thoma, Maynooth Library Looking for some reading material this International Women’s Day? Why not make it intersectional? Intersectional Feminism repositions feminism at the intersection of all women’s experiences and considers the multiple barriers you encounter if gender isn’t your only disadvantage.  Kimberlé Crenshaw first defined Intersectional Feminism in 1989. Watch her briefly explain it in… Continue reading International Women’s Day Book Choices

Book reviews and recommendations, Children 10-12, Children 6-10

Aoife’s Top 5 Children’s Books for World Book Day

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling Synopsis: Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry's eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed… Continue reading Aoife’s Top 5 Children’s Books for World Book Day

Book reviews and recommendations

What Should I Read?

By Elaine Patterson, Newbridge Headquarters Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you want to read, but you don’t know what you want to read except that it’s not one of your favourites but something new? Finding new reading material can be daunting, especially with the overwhelming number of authors, both new and… Continue reading What Should I Read?

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15

Love Bomb

Author Jenny McLachlan  Genre Young Adult Fiction  Review by Orla O’ Brien Kildare Town Library  Synopsis Perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb… Continue reading Love Bomb

Book reviews and recommendations, Digital Resources, Digital Services, General Information

Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions Part 2

What is Ireland Reads? Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25th.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative… Continue reading Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions Part 2