Book reviews and recommendations

What Should I Read?

By Elaine Patterson, Newbridge Headquarters Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you want to read, but you don’t know what you want to read except that it’s not one of your favourites but something new? Finding new reading material can be daunting, especially with the overwhelming number of authors, both new and… Continue reading What Should I Read?

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15

Love Bomb

Author Jenny McLachlan  Genre Young Adult Fiction  Review by Orla O’ Brien Kildare Town Library  Synopsis Perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb… Continue reading Love Bomb

Book reviews and recommendations, Digital Resources, Digital Services, General Information

Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions Part 2

What is Ireland Reads? Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25th.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative… Continue reading Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions Part 2

Adult Fiction, Book reviews and recommendations

Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions

What is Ireland Reads? Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25th.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative… Continue reading Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions

Book reviews and recommendations

Some Chinese New Year Inspired Picks

Post By Dolores, Celbridge Library With Chinese New Year just around the corner, why not check out some of these contemporary eBooks and audiobooks with a Chinese connection on our free app BorrowBox? Who knows you might even select one of these titles to read along with us on Ireland Reads Day February 25th 2021.… Continue reading Some Chinese New Year Inspired Picks

Book reviews and recommendations, General Information, Keep Well Campaign

What is Ireland Reads?

Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative and aims to celebrate… Continue reading What is Ireland Reads?

Adult Fiction, Book reviews and recommendations

The Girl From Widow Hills

Author: Megan Miranda Reviewed by: Aoife, Newbridge library Genre: Adult Fiction Synopsis Everyone knows the story of the girl from Widow Hills ...When Arden Maynor was six years old, she was swept away in a terrifying storm and went missing for days. Against all odds, she was found alive, clinging to a storm drain. Fame… Continue reading The Girl From Widow Hills

Adult Fiction, Book reviews and recommendations

Spill Simmer Falter Wither

Author: Sara Baume Genre: Adult Contemporary Fiction Review: by Orla O’ Brien, Kildare Town Library Synopsis A misfit man finds a misfit dog. Ray, aged fifty-seven, ‘too old for starting over, too young for giving up’, and One Eye, a vicious little bugger, smaller than expected, a good ratter. Both are accustomed to being alone, unloved, outcast –… Continue reading Spill Simmer Falter Wither

Adult Fiction, Book reviews and recommendations

The Peppermint Tea Chronicles

Author:           Alexander McCall Smith Genre:             Adult Fiction Review by:      Mairead, Monasterevin Library Synopsis:         Once more we catch up with the delightful goings-on in the fictitious 44 Scotland Street from Alexander McCall Smith ... To everything there is a season and a time for every purpose; it is summer in Scotland Street… Continue reading The Peppermint Tea Chronicles