Book Reviews

General Information

Kildare Library Service – Change to Service Arrangements

Following the announcement from Government, that the entire country is to be moved to level 3 ‘with modifications’ of Recovery and Resilience 2020-2021: Plan for Living with Covid-19, the following arrangements will now be in place for Kildare Libraries from Tuesday 1st December. Open by AppointmentKildare Libraries in Athy, Celbridge, Kildare, Leixlip, Maynooth, Naas and… Continue reading Kildare Library Service – Change to Service Arrangements

Book reviews and recommendations, Children 10-12, Children 6-10

Aoife’s Top 5 Children’s Books for World Book Day

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling Synopsis: Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry's eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed… Continue reading Aoife’s Top 5 Children’s Books for World Book Day

Behind the Books

Author and Librarian Wayne Byrne on Writing

In celebration of International Writers’ Day 2021, Naas librarian and highly acclaimed author, Wayne Byrne, gives us Five Things that have shaped his work in literature.  Film – The motion picture has been the single most important factor in me becoming a writer. And I don’t mean that in the sense that I write about Cinema,… Continue reading Author and Librarian Wayne Byrne on Writing

Arts & Crafts

Knit A Springtime Rainbow Cushion

Sheila from Leixlip Library has sent us in a lovely rainbow inspired knit cushion. This knitting recipe would be perfect for those already familiar with knitting and my be a little more difficult for beginners.What you need: Double Knitting wool 1 ball in each of the rainbow colours. Colour codes: 1) Red, 2) Orange, 3)… Continue reading Knit A Springtime Rainbow Cushion

Behind the Books

Ireland Reads: Author visit with Adiba Jaigirdar

Friday, 26th February, 3pm To continue our Ireland Reads celebration Kildare County Libraries have organised a fantastic event with author Adiba Jaigirdar. Adiba will talk about her acclaimed novel Henna Wars, which is like When Dimple Met Rishi meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this rom com about two teen girls with rival henna businesses. Synopsis… Continue reading Ireland Reads: Author visit with Adiba Jaigirdar

Book reviews and recommendations

What Should I Read?

By Elaine Patterson, Newbridge Headquarters Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you want to read, but you don’t know what you want to read except that it’s not one of your favourites but something new? Finding new reading material can be daunting, especially with the overwhelming number of authors, both new and… Continue reading What Should I Read?

Digital Library Resources, Digital Resources, Digital Services, Educational

Let’s Talk About Parenting March Events

Let's Talk About ParentingThe ‘Let's talk about Parenting’ Programme is a FREE series of talks and workshops for Parents, and Professionals working with children and young people in County Kildare. Presently all our talks are being provided online. The programme is provided by Kildare Library Service, is funded by Kildare County Council and is supported by Kildare CYPSC,… Continue reading Let’s Talk About Parenting March Events

Arts & Crafts

Art & Craft – Rock Painting

by Craig, Naas Library Today I’m going to be doing some Rock Painting with you, and turning a plain old rock from the garden, into a colourful Ladybird. Rock Painting can be fun for any age group and is something creative that you can do together as a family. First you need to gather your… Continue reading Art & Craft – Rock Painting

General Information

Cruinniú na nÓg: Have Your Say

Cruinniú na nÓg, Ireland’s national day of creativity for children and young people, takes place on Saturday June 12th and the Culture and Creativity team for Kildare County Council are busy making plans.The free programme events is decided upon within County Kildare, and Creative Ireland have developed a chatbot, so we can reach out to young… Continue reading Cruinniú na nÓg: Have Your Say

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15

Love Bomb

Author Jenny McLachlan  Genre Young Adult Fiction  Review by Orla O’ Brien Kildare Town Library  Synopsis Perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb… Continue reading Love Bomb

Digital Library Resources, Digital Resources, Digital Services, General Information

Ireland Reads- Children’s & Young Adults eBook Suggestions

What is Ireland Reads? Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25th.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative… Continue reading Ireland Reads- Children’s & Young Adults eBook Suggestions