Arts & Crafts

Knit A Springtime Rainbow Cushion

Sheila from Leixlip Library has sent us in a lovely rainbow inspired knit cushion. This knitting recipe would be perfect for those already familiar with knitting and my be a little more difficult for beginners.What you need: Double Knitting wool 1 ball in each of the rainbow colours. Colour codes: 1) Red, 2) Orange, 3)… Continue reading Knit A Springtime Rainbow Cushion

Behind the Books

Ireland Reads: Author visit with Adiba Jaigirdar

Friday, 26th February, 3pm To continue our Ireland Reads celebration Kildare County Libraries have organised a fantastic event with author Adiba Jaigirdar. Adiba will talk about her acclaimed novel Henna Wars, which is like When Dimple Met Rishi meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in this rom com about two teen girls with rival henna businesses. Synopsis… Continue reading Ireland Reads: Author visit with Adiba Jaigirdar

Book reviews and recommendations

What Should I Read?

By Elaine Patterson, Newbridge Headquarters Have you ever found yourself in a situation where you want to read, but you don’t know what you want to read except that it’s not one of your favourites but something new? Finding new reading material can be daunting, especially with the overwhelming number of authors, both new and… Continue reading What Should I Read?

Digital Library Resources, Digital Resources, Digital Services, Educational

Let’s Talk About Parenting March Events

Let's Talk About ParentingThe ‘Let's talk about Parenting’ Programme is a FREE series of talks and workshops for Parents, and Professionals working with children and young people in County Kildare. Presently all our talks are being provided online. The programme is provided by Kildare Library Service, is funded by Kildare County Council and is supported by Kildare CYPSC,… Continue reading Let’s Talk About Parenting March Events

Arts & Crafts

Art & Craft – Rock Painting

by Craig, Naas Library Today I’m going to be doing some Rock Painting with you, and turning a plain old rock from the garden, into a colourful Ladybird. Rock Painting can be fun for any age group and is something creative that you can do together as a family. First you need to gather your… Continue reading Art & Craft – Rock Painting

General Information

Cruinniú na nÓg: Have Your Say

Cruinniú na nÓg, Ireland’s national day of creativity for children and young people, takes place on Saturday June 12th and the Culture and Creativity team for Kildare County Council are busy making plans.The free programme events is decided upon within County Kildare, and Creative Ireland have developed a chatbot, so we can reach out to young… Continue reading Cruinniú na nÓg: Have Your Say

Book reviews and recommendations, Young Adult 12-15

Love Bomb

Author Jenny McLachlan  Genre Young Adult Fiction  Review by Orla O’ Brien Kildare Town Library  Synopsis Perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Louise Rennison.Betty Plum has never been in love. She's never even kissed a boy. But when H.O.T. Toby starts school it's like Betty has been hit with a thousand of Cupid's arrows. It's like a bomb… Continue reading Love Bomb

Digital Library Resources, Digital Resources, Digital Services, General Information

Ireland Reads- Children’s & Young Adults eBook Suggestions

What is Ireland Reads? Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25th.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative… Continue reading Ireland Reads- Children’s & Young Adults eBook Suggestions

Digital Library Resources, Digital Resources, Digital Services, General Information

Ireland Reads Events

Have you got some time to Squeeze In A Read with us on February 25th 2021? Join us and take the pledge this February to squeeze in a read! It doesn’t matter how long you read for or what you read, it doesn’t matter whether you’re an avid reader, a reluctant reader, a lapsed reader or a new… Continue reading Ireland Reads Events

Book reviews and recommendations, Digital Resources, Digital Services, General Information

Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions Part 2

What is Ireland Reads? Ireland Reads is a new campaign to get the whole country reading this month in the lead up to a national day of reading on Thursday, February 25th.  Irish libraries have teamed up with publishers, booksellers, authors and others for the campaign which is part of the government Keep Well initiative… Continue reading Ireland Reads- Adult Digital eBook Suggestions Part 2