Educational

Online Resources for Children

Dermot in Newbridge Library has put together a fantastic list of free online resources that can help children keep learning while schools are closed.

Khan Academy  https://www.khanacademy.org

Free online learning materials for children. It is based around the U.S. grade system, however there are plenty of useful resources for many subjects. It is especially good for maths and computing for all ages.

BBC Learning  http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

Lots of revision and language learning resources. They will also be adding daily content during the month of April for children who aren’t in school due to the Covid-19 outbreak.

Futurelearn  https://www.futurelearn.com

Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).

Seneca  https://www.senecalearning.com

Tons of free revision content for those revising at GCSE or A level, though it could also be useful for Junior and Leaving certificate students. Paid access to higher level material.

Openlearn  https://www.open.edu/openlearn/

Free taster courses aimed at those considering Open University but everyone can access it. Adult level, but some e.g. nature and environment courses could well be of interest to young people.

Blockly  https://blockly.games

Learn computer programming skills – fun and free.

Scratch https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Kids can learn all about creative computer programming by making their own games. There are lots of tutorials to get you started.

Ted Ed  https://ed.ted.com

All sorts of engaging educational videos, covering a wide variety of topics.

National Geographic Kids  https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Lots of fun and educational activities and quizzes for younger kids.

Duolingo  https://www.duolingo.com

Learn languages for free! Available through their website or app.

Mystery Science  https://mysteryscience.com

Lots of free science lessons.

The Kid Should See This  https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Wide range of cool videos that can start conversations, spark questions, and inspire offline exploration for all ages.

Crash Course  https://thecrashcourse.com

A YouTube channel that produces a huge number of videos covering a wide range of educational subjects.

Crash Course Kids            https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids

Crash Course for a younger audience.

Crest Awards  https://www.crestawards.org

Science awards you can complete from home. Managed by the British Science Association.

iDEA Awards  https://idea.org.uk

Digital enterprise award scheme you can complete online.

Paw Print Badges  https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. There is a cost for badges, but they are optional.

Tinkercad  https://www.tinkercad.com

All kinds of making and design.

Prodigy Maths  https://www.prodigygame.com 

Free maths learning platform.

Cbeebies https://global.cbeebies.com/ 

Lots of fun activities for younger children, including games and craft projects.

British Council   https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find

Resources for English language learning

Oxford Owl for Home  https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Lots of free resources for Primary school children.

Big History Project  https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home

Aimed at Secondary age. Multi disciplinary activities.

Geography Games  https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

Geography gaming!

The Artful Parent https://artfulparent.com/

Lots of arts and crafts ideas for children.

Red Ted Art  https://www.redtedart.com

Lots of easy art ideas for young children.

The Imagination Tree  https://theimaginationtree.com    

Creative art and craft activities for young children.

Toy Theater  https://toytheater.com/            

Lots of educational online games.

DK Find Out  https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/?fbclid=IwAR2wJdpSJSeITf4do6aPhff8A3tAktnmpaxqZbkgudD49l71ep8-sjXmrac

Lots of fun activities and quizzes.

Hopefully some of these resources are helpful!

1 thought on “Online Resources for Children”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s